About

Founded in 1991 by Artistic Director Joan Kall Stewart, Sawnee Ballet Theatre is a 501(c)3 non-profit performing company in Cumming, Georgia. Through Ms. Stewart’s leadership and creativity, SBT became well known as a leading provider of quality dance performances and dance training in Forsyth County. Upon Joan Kall Stewart’s retirement in 2016, Courtney Bromwich was named artistic director of Sawnee Ballet Theatre. Ms. Bromwich strives to continue the legacy of providing high quality dance training and performances, expanding not only SBT’s classical repertoire, but jazz, modern, and contemporary dance as well.

Sawnee Ballet Theatre is housed in the studios of Sawnee School of Ballet and produces three major productions a year. SBT provides the Forsyth community with cutting edge dance works, family-oriented ballets and its wildly popular production of The Nutcracker. The company has also proudly produced many dancers who have been accepted in prestigious summer intensive programs such as The Rock, North Carolina School of Arts, Boston Ballet, Bolshoi Ballet, School of American Ballet, Orlando Ballet, Alonso King’s Lines, and the American Ballet Theatre. Dancers have also received scholarships to pursue dance collegiately at Ballet Magnificat, Belhaven University, the Joffrey School of Ballet, Kennesaw State University, Point Park University and Brenau University. Sawnee Ballet Theatre aims to continue celebrating life through dance for many more years to come.

2020-2021 Company
nutcracker
Miss Joanie passing on the Nutcracker

bromwich

Artistic Director

Courtney Bromwich

Stewart

Artistic Director Emeritus

Joan Kall Stewart

 

2021-2022 Officers

Vice-President:Jen Tamborellovicepresident@sawneeballettheatre.org
Treasurer:Charlotte Clausstreasurer@sawneeballettheatre.org
Secretary:Randy Palubiaksecretary@sawneeballettheatre.org
President:Kevin Clausspresident@sawneeballettheatre.org
Head of Committees:Jen Butzinboard@sawneeballettheatre.org
Head of Marketing:Openboard@sawneeballettheatre.org
Board Member:Cathy Pageboard@sawneeballettheatre.org
Scroll Up